Blog-tember Challenge 2015: Day 3: Mood Board

 I decided to start a blog so that I had a place that I could rant about my Maltese pride, as I tend to do that a lot, I thought having one central place to let it all out would be good. That was then taken over by my family history journey, where I decided to keep a log of all my findings…

I found myself writing up essays on my Facebook page, to the point I was annoying myself, let alone those that scroll through their news feeds to yet again see ‘Miss Malta’ rave on about how amazing Malta is! To read about my love for the islands, click here… (If you aren’t familiar with Malta or have never heard about it up until now, I highly recommend you click!)

It is actually this day one year ago that I started my blog! Whenever I feel passionate about a certain topic, I get on here and type away, especially since my current involvement in the Maltese community here in Sydney. I also decided to share some of my writings in Maltese – I go to Maltese Language school to better my Maltese. Our teacher gives us a topic each week for homework where we then write up something around the topic.

I started my family history research some 6 or 7 years ago, and only recently have gotten right into it. I started finding a lot more than I thought I would, and thought it would be a good idea to document my journey and all my findings so that one day I can collate them all into a book of some sort. Something I can pass down to my children.

I guess my main passion for running this blog is for that same reason – something for my kids to read over. Growing up, and even to this day, I am always intrigued about how my parents were when they were younger. What made them tick, what their passions were, what they liked and disliked. Having a blog is like a diary or a journal. You capture memories and thoughts while they are still fresh in your mind. Knowing your ancestors makes you better know yourself, well at least I feel that way anyway. I know I’m loco over Malta, my cousins even get sick of me ranting over the tiny rock! My kids might feel the same way, but I know that if my parents had something like this for me, it would be the one thing I treasure most.

  One thought on “Blog-tember Challenge 2015: Day 3: Mood Board

  1. September 5, 2015 at 5:36 PM

    Very well done from a fellow Maltese

    Like

  2. September 4, 2015 at 7:45 PM

    Like you, I think the main purpose of my blog was to document my days. For myself and my children.

    Like

Leave a Reply

