Blog-tember Challenge 2015: Day 4: What are you passionate about?


I am a couple days late with this post, however, I am determined to complete each day.

I think it’s pretty obvious what I am passionate about.

But, for the purpose of Blog-tember, I’m going to try and think outside the box. I’ll tell you what, asking myself the question “what am I passionate about” is really hard to answer without the word ‘Malta’ in response!

So I am going to take a different approach/perspective and say that I am passionate about life.

You can have a lot of ups and downs, and sometimes it can feel like there are a lot more downs than ups. Let me tell you, I have had my fair share. In saying that though, I live with the thought that ‘there is always someone that is worse off’, so I live each day to the full and appreciate all the things I do have going for me.

I’ve grown to realise that not everything is perfect and not everything will work out to plan and how you expected it to be when you were a little girl. You know, I pictured the whole happy families – the ‘married before I’m 30, in my dream home with a kid or two‘. You have this perfect vision of what your life will be, with all those you care most about caring back the same way.

You go through a lot of heartache, not just bad-boyfriend-break-ups, but seeing those you love most hurt and losing loved ones. All in all, it’s how you take it, how you approach it and how you handle the situation. It’s the positive attitude that can get you further than you thought you could get. And let me tell you, it’s hard! Boy it’s hard! Especially when you are surrounded by negativity and people you thought would never hurt you, put you down in a way where you just want to curl up into a ball and cry.

In this ‘perfect‘ world, there are a lot of imperfections. Instead of concentrating on being perfect, you need to put that effort behind the art of being true to yourself. Don’t conform to pressures outside of what you cannot control.

For someone who has been a bit of a sheltered child, I’ve been fortunate enough to see a bit of the world, on my own and experience life in another country. There is so much out there, so much beauty to be seen. So much positive that can give you a broader outlook on life, the way people live in other countries, meeting new people in general and taking their positivity and incorporating it into the way you live life.

I look at those around me, and learn off them. Their attitudes and outlooks on life to make me a better person. Attributes I like about them and then things they are going through where I think, ‘you can deal with this whole situation a heap better’. When I get to those moments, I try and put myself outside the box, just like those I look at and think it can be dealt better. Seeing things in a different perspective. Understanding is key to getting through a lot of things. Having an open mind is another. Communication is too.

Life is so short, don’t dwindle and dwell on the bad things in life, see the bigger picture, take advantage of the life you have. Honestly, you will live a life not only hurting yourself, but hurting those around you too. Look at all the beauty that is there in front of you, take all the positives and make them the drive for the life you live. Life is 10% of what happens to us, 90% is how we react to it.

Leave a Reply

