Blog-tember Challenge 2015: Day 21: Quote Me

Man, I love a good quote. Especially the ones that speak to you in ways you thought that no one could ever get you, in times when you need it most.

I have three quotes/sayings that are my absolute favourites.

All my life I have been a bit of a sheltered child. You know, the typical, strict, over protective upbringing. So a few years back, I came across a Latin phrase: “alis volat propiis” which translates to “she flies with her own wings”. I read it at a time where I was starting to stand my ground, do what I wanted to do with my life and be independent. I was and still am so in love with it that I want to get it tattooed. I’m just waiting for the right time to do it. I am even considering on getting it in Maltese, just so it has that little bit more of meaning to me which would be: “ittir bil-ġwienaħ tagħha stess”… Though I think the 3 words in Latin might be less painful 😛

So one of my many loves for the Maltese language is the fact that it can paint a picture with words in ways English can’t. Things always sound so much more beautiful in Maltese. I came across this one quote in Maltese (translation in caption);

 

Life has four senses:
To love, to suffer, to fight, to win.
Who loves, suffers.
Who suffers, fights.
Who fights, wins.
Love a lot, suffer little.
Fight a lot, win always.

Now my all time favourite quote that I live by is;

Take chances, take a lot of them. Because honestly, no matter where you end up and with whom, it always ends up the way it should be. Your mistakes make you who you are. You learn and grow with each choice you make. Say how you feel, always. Be you, and be OK with it.

This quote is life in a nutshell really. There is not right or wrong, just do what you think is right in your heart and go with it. You won’t know unless you learn for yourself. Experience life for what it is. Be you and be OK with it ❤

 

  One thought on “Blog-tember Challenge 2015: Day 21: Quote Me

  1. September 28, 2015 at 9:28 AM

    Be you, and be OK with it. Such powerful words Charmaine. Love these quotes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

